Sax on the Web Forum banner

Discussions Showcase Albums Media Media Comments Tags Marketplace

1-19 of 208 Results
  1. Eb Alto
    Hello, My name is Natalie and I've been playing alto for 5 years. Sometimes when I buy reeds (either Junos or Vadorians) 2 out of the 5 will just straight up not work. Zero sound, just a small squeak. Does this happen to you guys also or is this a sax problem? -Thanks! :)
  2. Eb Alto
    I personally think that reeds have a big impact on my sound, or maybe its just placebo. But, I use D'Addario royal 2.5 for brighter classical, vandoren blue box for anything classical, V12 for dark classical, and V16 for jazz. Recently I tried blue box for jazz and it sounded pretty good. What...
  3. Eb Alto
    Recently I bought a new jazz mouthpiece, the Theo Wanne NY Bros 2 in a size 6 tip opening. I noticed that whenever I play with either a Vandoren ZZ 2.5 or a Boston Sax Shop 2.5 my octave D and E squeak pretty frequently. The only reeds I've found to fix this are the Nexus 2.5. Could this issue...
  4. Tenor mpc
    I recently purchased a Vandoren V16 t7 mouthpiece. What would you say would be a good Reed combination? I've been trying the Vandoren ZZ strength #3, l love the sound that I'm getting but it's just a little harder than I would like.
  5. Reeds
    Per Legere's website: "Introducing the French Cut, by Légère. A refined, symphonic reed that gives players a richness and stability in tone, without any sacrifice to response. With a profile that has been completely reimagined, the French Cut has been designed for a dark, centered tone that...
  6. Reeds
    I usually like vandoren blue box size three on my b45 mouthpiece but I find daddario reeds to be more consistent on alto. I accidentally bought reserve classics which are closer to v12 reeds and a little too soft for me. Should I just go for the regular reserve or the evolution?
  7. What to Buy & Why: Reeds and Misc.