Sax on the Web Forum banner

Discussions Showcase Albums Media Media Comments Tags Marketplace

1-16 of 109 Results
  1. General Mouthpiece Discussion
    I'm a middle school band teacher. I'm also a sax player and have knowledge of mouthpieces. I'm toying with the idea of purchasing mouthpieces for my entire jazz ensemble sax section. It would be an investment, as I would purchase around 10. So I need to be wise about it. I think SYOS is the...
  2. What to Buy & Why: Saxophones
    Parents have often asked me to recommend a new beginner with a new saxophone with what brand and model. I give them the basic rundown of the pros & cons of various, after trying to find out the reason the student has chosen the sax, what the Parent is willing to invest, and have they discussed...
  3. Late Bloomers
    I am 68 years old and I am often transported/inspired by the saxophone. Not sure why really but there it is. Must of my career has been in development on the African continent in remote locations so learning to play sax was not practical. I've recently retired back to Canada and would like to...
  4. Embouchure & Tone Producing Basics
    I've only been playing for a week, but I'm having trouble getting a consistent high tone out of my octave key, and some times it just straight up doesn't work. In order to get it to work I have to bite a bit on the reed, which I don't think I should have to do. By biting on the reed and...
  5. General Discussion
    I want to start playing the saxophone (I’m 13 years old). From what i heard the alto sax is easier for beginners but a tenor is also possible if you have big enough hands. I prefer the sound of the tenor but I don’t know if i can start on it right now. What do you think?
  6. General Discussion