Sax on the Web Forum banner

YBS32 Yamaha or B901 Yani

5K views 7 replies 7 participants last post by  MPL 
#1 ·
Hi every body.
After many years on a YAS 23 and one year on a YBS32 with my band(nearly 10 years ago now), I would like to buy me a brand new bari. After reading many post and asking a lot of people I have now in my shortlist the B901 and YBS32.
I am not a pro player just a good amateur I think.
According to you what are the main differents between those two sax (tuning playability etc) I already know that the YBS as just a high F key and no engraving.
Has the B901 a double octave key?

I am looking for a sax easy to play in tune with good response, great reliability
(with no gimmick)
Thank you for your help.

josselin

#2 ·
What do you mean by double octave key?

And on the lower saxophones, it is easier to get out F# using the High F (front F fingering) and side Bb keys, at least in my experience. Someone correct me if I am wrong! And then again, WHY would you go so high on bari? :wink:

No matter which way you go, you will be satisfied with your purchase, I believe. Just don't forget to try them out first!

#3 ·
#6 ·
All saxes (at least all of those that I've ever seen or read about) have a "double octave key" system. The early horns from the Dinant works had a pair of "octave keys" with two touchpieces for the left thumb. Later on, the system was mechanized with the different vents opening in conjunction with the number of "finger holes" that happen to be open at that time. You may not notice this (a good sign that someone thought it through well) but it is there on every modern horn.

The good folks at Yamaha took a slightly different approach to all of this. A Yamaha sax has not two but three octave vents, all controlled by the same single "octave key" for the left thumb. The "high vent" operates the same as it does on all saxes, and is located just below the neck insertion point at the end of the "crook"