Help! Tenor Mouthpiece for Low Notes

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Question Help! Tenor Mouthpiece for Low Notes

Hi,

I'm looking for some help. I switched from alto to tenor about three years ago. I have about six years playing experience in total.

To my great shame, I am still not able to get decent low notes out on tenor (couldn't really on alto either). I've tried everything, been through teachers and tutorials, practised, practised and practised. Somehow, I can't solve it. There is either about my physiological or psychological makeup that prohibits it. I think I bite a bit (I've tried to stop, I can't!) and have a fairly weak airflow (I've tried to improve, but it's not enough!). For this reason, I'm looking for a work-around solution.

Could any of the more experienced players on the forum tell me if there are mouthpiece features that might support me in getting full / more reliable low notes on tenor sax? Facing, tip opening, table, baffle etc? Or recommend a manufacturer / brand / model that might help me with this? It's really frustrating, as I feel like I'm a solid mid-level hobby musician -- but this makes me sound like a total beginner!

Thanks in advance!
    Matty

2. Remove Advertisements
    SaxOnTheWeb.net
    Advertisements

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Re: Help! Tenor Mouthpiece for Low Notes

I feel your pain. No, really. There is no workaround or magic trick.
    Even with a leak free horn, the 3 lowest notes (C, B and Bb) are not easy.
    You have given the answer partially yourself. Biting and a not sufficient airstream is part of the problem.
    Find a setup (mouthpiece/reed combination) that feels comfortable in all ranges. Make sure the horn is leak free.