Relacquering reconsidered

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Relacquering reconsidered

So I haven't really paid much attention to the saxophone world in years since I really let go of the idea that I would play for a living and got busy with the rest of life. But lately I've gotten back into playing (as a hobby) and started paying attention to the sax world again. And I noticed that, in addition to the absurd increase in the cost of Selmers, the other thing that has changed significantly is the attitude towards relaquering.

Relacquering was once considered anathema not only because it ruins the value of a vintage sax but also, allegedly, because it can ruin the sound. Now, however, it seems that the second part of this view is in serious question. Relacquering still hurts the value of a sax, but a contingent seems to argue that it has no effect on the sound of a saxophone, even if there is buffing involved.

I ask because I have a 59 King Super 20 that plays amazingly, but looks very used (and it is) and, more importantly, has some spots of red-rot which concern me and make me think new lacquer might be worth considering to prevent spreading. However, I'd never even consider it if it will impact how it plays. So what's the deal? In your opinion, does relacquer affect the sound of a vintage sax?

TLDR: does relacquering really negatively affect the sound of a vintage sax?

2. Remove Advertisements
    SaxOnTheWeb.net
    Advertisements

Distinguished SOTW Technician BOPITY FUNK's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Re: Relacquering reconsidered

Effect on sound ? the jury will forever be out on that ! Effect on value ? yes-major !

Forum Contributor 2016-17 StanVI's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)