Reed for beginner

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Reed for beginner

I'm completely new to playing the sax, I have a 'Gear4Music' Tenor Sax, it's a borrowed instrument, until such a point that I feel the need to progress onto my own better quality sax. For now the sax came with a reed on the mouthpiece (Thoroughly cleaned for it's new owner of course) but this reed already had a tiny bit of damage, and now due to someone other than myself has become completely ruined There was another reed in the instrument case, in it's own little plastic sleeve, which I'm now using. Not sure if it's me, but it seems to need a fair bit more puff to get the same notes. I'm not looking to experiment with reeds as such, but when I visit my local music shop to buy a couple of spares, what should I ask for ?

Paul

2. Remove Advertisements
    SaxOnTheWeb.net
    Advertisements

Distinguished SOTW Member
    Forum Contributor 2013-15
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Re: Reed for beginner

Dear Paul,

I do not live in the UK and have no idea what reeds might be available in a shop there.

I would hope that the shop keeper would not steer you wrong if you asked for help.

In the "Articles" section and the "FAQ" section of this forum is this material below:

What type of reed is best for me?
    How to pick out a reed: http://www.saxontheweb.net/vbulletin...ad.php?t=91965
    Basic reed tools: http://www.saxontheweb.net/vbulletin...d.php?t=109722
    Synthetic reeds: http://www.saxontheweb.net/vbulletin...ad.php?t=22824
    For Morgan: http://www.saxontheweb.net/vbulletin...d.php?t=106682
    For Otto Link: http://www.saxontheweb.net/vbulletin...d.php?t=105332
    Darkest Tenor Reed: http://www.saxontheweb.net/vbulletin...d.php?t=106833
    Reed Preparation and Modification: http://www.saxontheweb.net/vbulletin...ad.php?t=67804
    Gonzalez Reeds: http://www.saxontheweb.net/vbulletin...ad.php?t=65279