Sax on the Web Forum banner

How to approach a dark and soft sound on alto

638 views 0 replies 1 participant last post by  molst 
#1 ·
Hi all!

I started playing about 8 months ago and have read a couple of books, seen countless of youtube videos and have lately tried to approach that warm, soft sound of legends like Paul Desmond and Stan Getz. Even though 8 months probably sounds short, I have learnt a lot playing regularly and with a lot of focus on the timbre and so I think it's now time for me to share something that I think could be of value to those that want to sound like these fantastic players.

I played about 7 months with the mouthpiece that comes with the Yanagisawa AW02 that I purchased as my first sax and by the end of this time I had pretty good control with Vandoren red 2-3 strength reeds. I did all I could following videos with tips on how to produce the subtones that I needed and always considered the warnings about different bad habits that could be tempting. I ended up leaning the head forward, moving the jaw and lower lip far out on the reed and was able to get a pretty dark and soft sound. This was the only way to produce a sound that came close to what I was out for. However, as could be expected, this had a pretty bad effect on my general embochure when I wanted to quickly move to the upper registers, so I understood that it was time to try another mouthpiece.