Solo you shedded that had the most impact on developing your vocabulary?

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    Forum Contributor 2013-2017
    Watertown, MA or Grand Cayman depending on the weather
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Solo you shedded that had the most impact on developing your vocabulary?

I am primarily self-taught, but have finally taken a few lessons over the past year or so. Regarding my improvisation ability, the consensus feedback I have received is that I play well, everything is harmonically correct and even occasionally interesting, but I need more ideas and more vocabulary. The recommendation, no surprise, was to transcribe and shed some solos of the greats I admire.

I am a late bloomer and have way less ability at my age to memorize solos or even licks than I use to. It requires way more time and repetition these days. That combined with my limited time left on this fine planet means I need to be efficient about which solos I chose to work on, as I figure realistically I will only be able to internalize one or two per year (unlike my last instructor who spent 10-15 hours a day for three years memorizing a large chunk of Parker’s omnibook).

So… what solo have you shedded (or would recommend) that gave you the most return for your time spent in terms of vocabulary, ideas, and improvisational conception?

(Please note I am not asking for your favorite solo, rather I'm asking about the one that had the most impact on your ability to improvise.)

(also, I am purposely not mentioning who my favorite players are as I don’t want to limit the scope of recommendations).

Thanks
    Selmer Mark VI tenor, Yamaha 82zUL tenor, Yamaha YAS62 alto, Yamaha YSS475 soprano, Cannonball Vintage Reborn soprano, Yamaha WX5 wind synthesizer, various blues harps (Mississippi saxes), ocarina, didgeridoo

2. Remove Advertisements
    SaxOnTheWeb.net
    Advertisements

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)