ReedJuvinate and Listerine

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Indistinguishable Resident Buescher Bigot and Forum Contributor 2010-2017 maddenma's Avatar
    Park Slope, Brooklyn, NY, USA, Earth, Orion's Arm, Milky Way, Virgo Super Cluster, Known Universe
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default ReedJuvinate and Listerine

I've been using the ReedJuvinate reed holders for about 6 months now and I now absolutely swear by them. It's very cool to get a good cane reed out of the container and immediately start playing on it without any warm-up, not to mention having the reeds last a whole lot longer.

However, after spending the last 30 minutes swabbing down pads on one of my tenors with naptha to fix a whole bunch of sticking ones, I thought I'd ask others using this method what they're using in them. The directions call for original formula Listerine -- presumably because the additional flavorings in the other flavors can cause the pads to stick. Well, clearly so does the original formula. I also presume that anything that doesn't evaporate on its own without leaving a sticky residue of some kind will do the same thing -- such as liquor.

It's not a huge deal to clean the pads from time to time given the benefits, but has anyone using this system have any thoughts on something non-toxic that doesn't taste like you're licking a bottle of rubbing alcohol?
    1924 Buescher Model 123 True Tone Silver Plated Sopranino
    1926 Buescher Model 120 True Tone Series III Silver Plated Straight Alto

1936 Buescher Model 139 Custom Built Bare Brass Baritone
    1938 Buescher Model 127 Aristocrat (Art Deco) Tenor

1938 Buescher Model 139 Aristocrat Gold Plated Baritone (some day)
    1947 Buescher Model B-11 400 (Top Hat & Cane) Bare Brass Tenor
    1949 Buescher Model B-7 400 (Top Hat & Cane) Silver Plated Alto
    1949 Buescher Model 140 Aristocrat (Big B) Alto
    1949 Buescher Model 156 Aristocrat (Big B) Gold Plated Tenor