Sax on the Web Forum banner

The Mark Vi is King agin , long live the King!

3K views 16 replies 15 participants last post by  Michael Ward 
#1 ·
Thought I would share an odyssey that seems to have taken me back to a starting point. That starting point was "the Street in NYC" circa 1986. I was a student at New England Conservatory visiting NYC in search of a tenor. I had mostly played alto and had two altos to trade. I walked up the steps to the second story of Rod Baltimore's International House of Woodwinds (I think it was that store) and met an English gentleman with great sales presence and a kind heart. He showed me several Mark VI tenors. They ranged in price from 1000 to 2000 dollars. The 2000 dollar tenor had recently been traded in by one Theodore "Sonny" Rollins. It was an 86,000 serial number horn , as I recall, and was wonderful. It had pads that had a name stamped on them Cheskey or Chenskin, or something with a C. I made my first trading mistake that day by not buying that horn and keeping it forever. I opted for a 169k horn with a lived in look and original lacquer that the shop traded to me straight across for a balanced alto and late Super 20 tenor. they threw in a Florida Otto Link Super Tone Master mouthpiece. That was the beginning.
Having made some cash finding and trading old violins, I began looking for horns. In my travels and through my connections I picked up scores of horns. I traded for many horns, Selmer Mark VI, Conn 10m, Chu, SBA, Buescher, Martin Committee, Big B, but for the most part I stayed with a Mark Vi. I have gone through periods of playing 10m's , even recording with them. i had a Chu period. I have fallen for the new Tiawan horns with special consideration of the great Viking horns, a brief endorsement of the Cannonball, and a nice time with a MacSax. I think I've at least played most of the options out there.