Sax on the Web Forum banner

Clarinet : What's you method for applying bore oil ?

5K views 16 replies 10 participants last post by  daigle65 
#1 ·
I'm looking for a less messy way.

I've been using an old pad saver swab for many years.

#5 ·
If you have a gun cleaning ramrod and some cloth patches that works very well.

#7 ·
A piece of doweling or rod and some scraps of cloth would work fine.

#8 ·
On oboe, a big feather works well. Clarinet might take a bigger feather. I usually use a flute cleaning rod with a piece of cloth. The idea on oboe is to strip off any loose linty or fluffy parts at the base of the feather. Then dip the very tip of the feather in oil and push it straight through the bore, leaving a trail of oil opposite the keys.. Then rotate the feather to distribute the oil. I have not tried a feather on clarinet, I think I might just stick with the cleaning rod, but a feather works great for oboe.

#9 ·
there are many soft brushes normally used for bassoon that you can use on a clarinet too. I have several sizes that are useful ( oboe brushes are also useful on saxophone necks) to put oil through the clarinet.

I have done that with bass and soprano clarinet.

A bit of oil on the soft brush (not too much) can be applied regularly. I also like to add a couple of drops of some real lemon oil , aromatherapy grade, (not what passes for lemon oil) to deodorize the clarinet. Pull-throughs for Bassoon are also my favorite for regular cleaning and maintenance, but I also have the ones used for saxophone necks.

Whether this has any real meaning in preventing cracks or anything else that you want to prevent it with is very doubtful.

Oiling the bore is extremely controversial and although done by many, rigorous tests have not been able to show that this has really any meaningful action.

Immersing clarinets in oil is also contentious and there is absolutely no evidence to suggest that the wood retains the oil.

#10 ·