Gonna give classical a go
Viking Instruments
Hyson Music
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Gonna give classical a go

I studied classical piano as a kid in the 70s, later jazz piano at the conservatorium in the 90s. Having the classical piano up my sleeve was an advantage (on the other hand never having prior jazz lessons, unlike many of the younger students, was a disadvantage!).

This time I've come back to saxophone from the other direction having taken it up again about 5 years ago. So I'm going to see how I go with classical saxophone at least as an exercise in technique - for me classical performance is not the aim.

So I have the 'AMEB' technical book. I can play the notes of all the scales, arpeggios etc. up to 8th grade, admittedly some are rough and some need to be played at a lesser tempo.

I'm just 'putting it out there' so some of the classical people around here might suggest some classical tunes (and no I'm not suggesting I start at 8th grade!). There may be some in the public domain.

Also there are some technique issues I already have, probably due to being slack in my practice routines.

Here's a couple of technique questions:
    1. Is it OK to use a fairly open mouthpiece for classical saxophone? I use a reasonably open mouthpiece with a baffle (metalite M7)
    2. Tonguing quickly. I find that at the faster tempos required I cannot tongue at the rate required (4 notes per 108). Is double tonguing required? Or do I just need to practice? Tips?

Anyway that's a start. No doubt I've already asked some dumb questions!

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Re: Gonna give classical a go

You can use any mouthpiece for classical that you want, as long as it enables you to achieve:
    • A good classical tone
    • Excellent intonation
    • Mastery of dynamics, especially p and pp
    • Smooth articulation