Sax on the Web Forum banner

Vibrato

5K views 33 replies 16 participants last post by  CrystallineVisions 
#1 ·
Hi,

I'm a professional clarinet player, but picked up the sax fairly recently. My question is the about the use of vibrato. Are there any classical saxophonists who use very little vibrato? Many of the recordings I hear seem to just blanket everything with it and it simply doesn't sound good to my clarinet ears.

Also, how do most people do vibrato on saxophone? Is it embouchure, diaphragm, jaw?

Thanks.

#2 ·
Done correctly it's embouchure, like vibrato when whistling. You're right, it has to be used properly. As a pro clarinetist, I'm amazed that you would venture into the 'dark side' where vibrato lurks around every half-note. I mean, the legit clarinet is never to use vibrato, right? You would be ostracized if you slipped up and started using it in the symphony.
Listen to really good sax 'greats' from the golden age of jazz for examples of proper vibrato usage, like Stan Getz. Legit sax players get to use all the vibrato they want, so you could listen to some of them. Rascher, Rousseau, Mule, etc. But even in rock & roll, vibrato was used sparingly by the great players. It's impossible to give you a formula as to when and how much to use - you just have to listen to the greats and absorb it.