Sax on the Web Forum banner

Help with "Pinched Throat" while playing soprano

2K views 10 replies 4 participants last post by  minicooper 
#1 ·
Hello Everyone - reaching out for some good advice and I know I'll find it here...

I've been playing sop for about 7 years. I'm sort of a late bloomer; I played alto and tenor in high school and then stopped playing for close to 20 years. After my "hiatus" I decided to play soprano. Bought a Yamaha YSS-475, started taking lessons, as I didn't really remember much of the instruction I had in high school. I must admit I haven't been the most diligent at practicing, but I do practice as much as I can. I mainly play at church 3 or 4 times a year. I'm decent, but still trying to improve my sound.

In looking for a particular sound, I decided to try a Kessler Performance Series Soprano. Got it yesterday and it's a beautiful instrument. Unpacked everything and put it together and started to play a few scales and arpeggios. For some reason, I couldn't get middle D, E, and F to come out right. Tried and few times with no results. I called Dave Kessler and described the issue and we went through a few exercises to diagnose the problem. After I played a note over the phone, Dave determined that I should try a softer reed and that I was "pinching my throat". I asked Dave how come I was able to play my Yam with ease and he said it was because of the bore of the Yamaha and that Yamahas are easier to play and encourage lazy playing in that they don't force the player to become proficient and are more forgiving when it comes to embouchure. He also mentioned that when switching from Japanese styled horns to a horn based more on French styled horns (like Selmer Paris which the Kessler is based on) is when more casual players (like me) will have issues and discover some of the hidden issues that only surface when playing a sax that requires more diligence.