Sax on the Web Forum banner

Review - PPT soprano

6K views 10 replies 6 participants last post by  Borganiboy 
#1 ·
I have been playing my PPT soprano for a few months now and decided it was time to post something on it since I am not seeing any other reviews.

My setup - PPT 6, Vandoran Java 2.5 or 3 reed, and BG tradition Ligature. I ordered it based on the recordings on Pete Thomas site when I was immediately struck by how the sound concept resonated with me. I wanted a great in-between mouthpiece that was easy to play in tune and was very flexible. This piece fits that perfectly for me. It is not too bright and not too dark. but can be shaped either way. This piece seems to have just the right amount of resistence to play smooth and soft in a free and easy sort of way, yet could be pushed to achieve a strong rich sound with some edge without being loud and obnoxious. I have excellent control over my intonation with this piece. I have two soprano's. A curved which is very focused and a saxello which is very spread sounding. It works equally well on either and seems to be very reed friendly. The thing I like about it the most though is that it sounds like a saxophone - not a flute, or oboe or clarinet. Highs speak easily and clearly without pinching off and yet are not piercing either.

Looks are not an issue to me though some might find the color (or lack of it) intriguing, however the craftsmanship appears to be excellent. The beak and rails on it seem very thin to me (same with the Tenor piece) and the top vibrated my upper teeth so much I needed to put a tooth pad but that was not an issue since I normally use a pad to protect the mouthpiece from my teeth.

When most boutique mouthpiece designers are charging $250 - $500 for a mouthpiece, I am grateful to Pete for coming up with such a great playing piece for such a good price.