Sax on the Web Forum banner

How to wet reed & how often?

38K views 13 replies 7 participants last post by  jski2011 
#1 ·
Hello there! I might sound very dumb posting this thread, but i'm a complete newbie and I just bought my first sax ytd. How do you wet your sax reed? Like do you just put it in your mouth, soak it in tap/drinking water, and for how long? Also do you need to repeat it EVERYTIME you want to play your sax? all answers will be appreciated thanks! :treble:

#2 ·
Hi Nicole, congratulations and welcome to the club.
I shouldn't be answering, as I play synthetic reeds on all my horns. But I remember. Cane reeds need some moisture, so you have to wet them every time you play. If you don't, they will squeak, warp, and die faster. You can do it with luke warm water in a glass, or just in your mouth. Some of us will recommend to break-in a couple of reeds in advance, what I used to do. It is particularly useful to select your best reeds for live performance. As long as you're only practicing, you can just play your reeds as they come. You will soon notice how inconsistent they can be, out of the same box.
Next point: let them dry or keep them moist after playing ? I used to let them dry, on a flat surface. Vandoren's small reed clips do the job. You can also find various devices, reed guards and so on. Whatever. Again, if they aren't on a flat surface while drying, they tend to warp.
Hard life, isn't it ? Why not swap your sax for a flute ? :mrgreen:

#4 ·