Sax on the Web Forum banner

To Vibrato or Not to Vibrato?

5K views 16 replies 11 participants last post by  ams264 
#1 ·
Well, I'm a sophomore in high school, I take lessons, but in a half-hour lesson I can't get a chance to ask some questions. For classical playing, my band teacher just told me to vibrato anything that I can. Somehow that doesn't really seem too realistic.

Can anyone add further insight? Should I really vibrato whatever I can manage?

-Jake-

#2 ·
Go ahead and use vibrato on held notes.
You know... whole notes and longer.
I'm sure your director is trying to encourage you to develop this aspect of your playing.

#4 ·
Try listening to classical saxophonists like Jean Marie Londeix or Frederico Mondelci and imitate their vibrato and eventually develop your own vibrato style. In response to the title of the thread, YES!

#5 · (Edited)
Well, I'm a sophomore in high school, I take lessons, but in a half-hour lesson I can't get a chance to ask some questions. For classical playing, my band teacher just told me to vibrato anything that I can. Somehow that doesn't really seem too realistic.

Can anyone add further insight? Should I really vibrato whatever I can manage?

-Jake-
Jake, you've made an astute realization: it's not realistic or even musically sensible to have vibrato on EVERY note. Vibrato should be one of your many tools for expressive playing and should be used in that way. Just as when you speak, you don't inflect in the same way throughout a dialogue, in music you want to create as much variety and nuance through each and every phrase as you can. Vibrato is a big part of this. As a high school student, your biggest priority in regards to vibrato should be working to control it at any tempo. Work with metronome to be completely flexible with various speeds of vibrato at different tempos.

Then, go and listen to NON-saxophonists, especially string players. Listen for how they shape the music and how vibrato comes into play.