Theo Wanne Tenor Durga pass around reviews

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Theo Wanne Tenor Durga pass around reviews

Hello all--

I am starting this thread for people involved in the pass around to post their reviews on the Theo Wanne tenor Durga.
    Theo Wanne Mantra Tenor (Black Nickel)--Theo Wanne Shiva 8*, Gaia 8
    Theo Wanne Mantra Soprano (prototype)--Gaia 8, Mantra 8
    Alto--Theo Wanne Durga 8, Gaia 8

2. Remove Advertisements
    SaxOnTheWeb.net
    Advertisements

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Re: Theo Wanne Tenor Durga pass around reviews

Hi ,My name is Frank Elmo.I've been a professional sax player since the mid 70's.I've played in almost every concievable situation with the best and worst and everthing in-between.See http://frankelmo.com for a partial resume.
    I have used links,dukoffs and most of the current boutique mouthpieces around. I do recording work ,club gigs,straight ahead,organ trio,funk rock ,weddings,classical, and alot of private teaching,etc..
    Last year I ordered a Kali 7* and I was in mouthpiece heaven.The sound and feel are unbelievable,very link- like without the stuffiness..In all situations I thought it was the perfect piece!(dark and warm on ballads or backing up singers and bright and poppin on funk and rock) The only problem was that when I pushed it ,I had to back off slightly.
    The DURGA 8 is very similiar and different at the same time..Volume-wise,fergit-it the highs are briter and the lows are huge..The altissimo just pops. I'm getting double g g# and A with ease.When I push my jaw out and
    blow real hard for rock the DURGA is rite there with me..However,like the Kali 7* it still has (what I call )the "coltrane buzz ".Lots of overtones and colors,an interesting ,pleasing sound that really fills a room.