Sax on the Web Portal - Starting a combo

• Starting a combo

I'm certainly not the most experienced individual in the world, but I've been playing in a jazz combo of some form or another for the past 5 years, and a bit over a year ago I started up the group I'm currently with, Zarathustra. (If you want to check us out and see a little bit more of what we do you can send me a private message.) I'd say that most of the stuff that people have been saying is valuable. I think there is nothing better in terms of learning how to play than actually playing in a real, live setting.

Now onto the important stuff:
    1. Make sure you've got access to music. This may be through a teacher, parent, friend, whatever, but get some fakebooks. Once you have some fakebooks, if you have any knowledge about music theory then do some arranging and make your own arrangements. I'd say get comfortable playing some standards before you try writing your own stuff (and when I say some I mean a lot.)

2. Try your best to practice as often as possible. My group performed at least once a week and practiced at least once a week (provided we didn't have any other gigs set up) and we learned a lot rather quickly, so imagine what you could do just by practicing twice a week. And make sure these practice sections are actually practice sessions. It's good to occasionally go off and jam on whatever you may like, but it's just as important to spend time woodshedding even the most basic of jazz charts.