Sax on the Web Forum banner

Suitable saxes for a complete beginner

3K views 6 replies 4 participants last post by  1jakeh 
#1 ·
Hi all,

I'm currently thinking of buying a tenor sax to learn to play on. I've never played a sax before, so it'll be hard for me to judge the sound of a model in the shop. Two of the options I'm looking at are a Arbiter tenor sax (~£350, 2nd hand) or a Sebastian Buckley tenor (~£450, 1st hand) , but I haven't been able to find much information on either brand of sax.

Is there something I've missed as a source of information on either manufacturer? Would either tenor sax be a good choice for an instrument to learn on at such prices? Is there anything I should watch out for or any other option I should consider? I'd rather not pay too much more than this at the moment.

Thanks in advance for any advice!
Snowy

#2 ·
Since you`re in UK I`d suggest Trevor James, Hanson or Yamaha. Its important that the sax is in playable condition when you buy it and since you`re new, you aren`t going to know what is and isn`t playable. I strongly advise you to buy from a reputable dealer ie not a box shifter, and certainly not Ebay, so that they can play test and carry out any adjustments before you leave the shop.

Whereabouts are you located?

#4 ·
I'm based in Coventry, so the West Midlands is the kind of area I'm easily mobile in. Is there any store round here that you'd recommend or should I be headed further afield? (Quick searching suggests a few places in London might be worth checking out, but closer to home is always convenient!)

Thanks for the suggestions so far, I'll get on to checking those out.

#5 ·
Hey again,

After looking around a bit, I've been wondering about the sax linked below. It's an ex-rental horn though, so is there anything I should know about such instruments? Are they ones to avoid or just bear in mind that it might not quite be in pristine condition?