Problem with Many Instruments [Archive] - Sax on the Web Forum

View Full Version : Problem with Many Instruments

Michael
09-12-2009, 05:08 AM
I double on quite a few instruments and although I don't consider tenor sax a double to alto sax because if you can play one you can generally play the other. I recently picked up my alto today and it felt VERY AWKWARD and I couldn't get the same control I use to have because I've been playing strict tenor for the last 6 months. If I play my alto will I get used to it in a few days maybe weeks or has my embouchure just weakened because tenor is looser?

gallerytungsten
09-12-2009, 05:36 AM
Keep all your horns in the rotation and it won't be a problem.

Michael
09-12-2009, 05:40 AM
I don't really have time for that. I'm a full on student and....

1. I'm in a quintet for bassoon so I have high expectations to practice and be a good player
2. I play tenor saxophone in a school marching band so I simply need to practice so I cant memorize our 20+ songs which should take some time.
3. Well...what time is left? I'm just wondering if I've set myself back or if I just need some short adapting to the alto.

Mal 2
09-12-2009, 08:41 AM
If you have to emphasize one or two horns, you're going to get rusty on the neglected ones. It's just a fact of life. The good news is that it's not permanent. The rust is easier to knock off than you might think.

Do what you need to do. You're 15, you SHOULD be trying a little bit of everything. You have a long time ahead of you to specialize.

CaillouSax
09-12-2009, 11:36 AM
Keep all your horns in the rotation and it won't be a problem.

I do this with my alto and soprano and it works. If I don't practice my sop for a while, it shows the problem when I'm back on it. :)

I don't really have time for that. I'm a full on student and....

1. I'm in a quintet for bassoon so I have high expectations to practice and be a good player