Antigua Winds
AW Reeds
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default As a LeftHanded person, I've always been a little curious about right-handed players.

I mean, in the sense that >>

Did the position of your hands seem Natural when you first learned to play a woodwind instrument?

I remember (when I was 7) and my Father brought home a Clarinet for me to learn. I put my left hand on top ...ah..I guess, rather instinctively and I wonder if that's the same "Feeling" that Right-handed people have had.

I don't think it makes any difference in a persons playing ability...but I'm curious about how others felt when learning their instrument.

Distinguished SOTW Member/Forum Contributor 2009

Default Re: As a LeftHanded person, I've always been a little curious about right-handed play

As a teacher I've had to switch the hands of a few young recorder players and clarinetists to make sure the left hand is on top. It is unnatural for some righthanded musicians because the top hand seems to do all the work with those first few notes.

Here's a recorder player Benoit Sauve who is amazing with his right hand on top.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7pZm7...eature=related

Prodigal Son and Forum Contributor 2008 martysax's Avatar
    Boston (pronounced: Bahsten), Massachusetts

Default Re: As a LeftHanded person, I've always been a little curious about right-handed play

I swing both ways on the golf course so I don't even think about it.
    Just two questions: Where's the Bar located relative to the stage, and does the band get a discount?

Songs I recorded with The Cyclones

Check out my new informative site!