P Mauriat
Antigua Winds
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Kindly suggest some listening for beginners

Forum Contributor 2008 nagukush's Avatar

Default Kindly suggest some listening for beginners

Hi Family !

Just wanted to request for some recommendations on what and to which players should I listen to, as an absolute beginner to the Alto Saxophone. It will be great if you can kindly suggest a few artist's and their songs etc...

Thanks a lot !
    Have a wonderful day !
    Regards and Care to everybody !
    Kush
    Life is very short, who knows when it might end... give a kiss to someone special...
    Give a warm hug to your family and a broad smile of kindness to everybody you see today...
    For my Friend (this may be the last day), you may never see them or they may never see you again...

Distinguished SOTW Member
    Forum Contributor 2014

Default Re: Kindly suggest some listening for beginners

Off the top of my head — Johnny Hodges, Charlie Parker, Jackie McLean, Cannonball Adderley, Lee Konitz, Paul Desmond, Maceo Parker. But don't limit yourself to these guys, or to saxophonists in general. Listen to everything but listen as an alto player.
    Yamaha TS62 - Warburton LA; P. Mauriat 66R - Sakshama FL; Legeres
    Vito (Beaugnier) Baritone/HR Berg 105/1/M
    Buffet Greenline Clarinet; Yamaha 221-II Bass Clarinet

Quote Originally Posted by shotgun View Post
    Off the top of my head — Johnny Hodges, Charlie Parker, Jackie McLean, Cannonball Adderley, Lee Konitz, Paul Desmond, Maceo Parker. But don't limit yourself to these guys, or to saxophonists in general. Listen to everything but listen as an alto player.
    Hi there !

Thanks for caring and for the advice

Warmest Regards
    Kush
    Life is very short, who knows when it might end... give a kiss to someone special...
    Give a warm hug to your family and a broad smile of kindness to everybody you see today...