P Mauriat
Antigua Winds

View Poll Results: Are you a union musician?

Voters
61. You may not vote on this poll
  • Union all the way! I only do contracted gigs.

2 3.28%
  • Union member, but I *do* take non-contracted work

11 18.03%
  • Union member, but I rarely/never get union gigs

7 11.48%
  • Not a member

41 67.21%
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Union or non-union?

Über Geek
    Forum Contributor 2010 Distinguished SOTW Member

Default Union or non-union?

Or something in between? I am a member of the AFM here in Los Angeles, but like many people I sometimes think the benefits to myself are limited. I'm curious to hear others' perspectives.

Since this can be a touchy topic, I'll make the poll anonymous.
    "Nothing is worse for a musician than getting an opportunity you aren't prepared for." - Quincy Jones

Default Re: Union or non-union?

I'm not in the union but if I was a working pro I would probably have to be. From what I understand it can be touchy playing certain hotels and venues without a union card. I've never had a problem when it's a wedding or something of that nature but I think you have to be union to play at places like vegas hotels and disneyland. Anything for a movie? I don't know. I would be interested to here any advantage a weekend warrior such as myself could gain from joining.

uhhh

whats a union?
    Alto: cannonball big bell series, silver plated. vandoren AL3 with vandoren 3.5's or stock cannonball with jazz selects Soprano "maxtone", vandoren AL3 vandoren 3'sClarinet: 1950's buffet r13, vandoren b45, vandoren 3.5's
    flute: miyazawa 202, 9mz headjoint. piccolo: emerson boston legacy with keefe headjoint.

Distinguished Member and Forum Contributor 2008 saxmanglen's Avatar

deleted
    Last edited by saxmanglen; 02-19-2008 at 01:03 AM. Reason: Irrelevant......sorry

Isn't having a smoking section in a restaurant like having a peeing section in a swimming pool?

http://www.facebook.com/UnfilteredJazz