Sax on the Web Forum banner

Protection or control?

5K views 4 replies 4 participants last post by  Mbijay 
#1 ·
I have just read this today, The International Music Score Library Project has been shut down.

I am not a lawyer so I don't understand the grounds for this action, but it looks like another example of overkill by an organisation flexing it's legal muscles unnecessarily. I see that Project Guttenburg is stepping in to take over. Will they be threatened too?

Is this about protecting the rights of publishers, or about organisations trying to control the internet, or even about organisations not fully understanding the nature of modern communications systems. I note that the Cease and Desist came from Europe to a website hosted in Canada.

Here is a link to the story: http://yro.slashdot.org/article.pl?sid=07/10/21/0559220&tid=123

It is also reported here: http://www.melonfarmers.co.uk/awcf.htm#Score_a_Hit

#2 ·
The topic of copyright law is a bit touchy, but I'll try to explain the best I can.

What happened in this case is that the free "public domain" group was distributing scores considered to be public domain in the country of Canada, however were not public domain in the EU or under US copyright law. Although the site told users to follow their respective countries laws, the site readily distributed works without a license from the copyright holder (in this case the publisher, Universal Edition).

Universal Edition sent a cease and desist letter, and would have probably taken the group to some sort of world court to force them to cease operating, and to avoid heaps of legal fees for an argument they would definitely lose, the group shut down.