Sax on the Web Forum banner

Must i repair or collect this one?...

4K views 11 replies 7 participants last post by  Titoulevrai 
#1 ·
I have an old dolnet, seems to be an alto since says Eb on my tuner when fingering C. I'm also a newbie and don't know lots...

I'm beginner on tenor, & wondering if i couldn't also play a little alto... if i'd do a little "overhaul" on the dolnet.

But this oldie only plays a difficult to blow a-b-c... needs corks, pads, a key soldering & lots of love...
Please could you say me if this thing is worthy facing a lot of work? (could do myself with long hours i think if it has merit).

It says:
"M Dolnet Lefevre & Pigis,
Henry Dolnet Sr,
breveté sgdg
Paris"

Is this a bad model? or something good enough to be restaured?

Thanks.

See less See more
#2 ·
Hmmm ... it may be one for the collection rather than for playing. The bell looks a little short which suggests it might be high pitch, and therefore out of tune with modern instruments. Try measuring how tall it is without the neck - a LP alto should be around 56cm/22".

#4 ·
It's possible that this horn could infact be a low B horn instead of a low Bb. If it has the dual 8va keys and a short bell, like your horn does, it's safe to assume that this could be a low B horn. Could you post a few more pics, specifically of the other side of the bell. Personally, I think that if this is either a low B horn, or high pitch, it's a keeper for your collection.

#8 ·
A real museum piece .. and worth sending to a museum. Not for playing, though as Bruce points out. It is keyed, I think, to high Eb only, as well as to low B.

It was probably made in the late 19th century with that engraving.

Not for playing, but very interesting from a small but quite good French manufacturer.

#9 ·
Wow, i thought it was early 1900's but 18-- is more exciting...

Thanks pinnman, you confirm & precise.