P Mauriat
Antigua Winds
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Selmer Cigar Cutter?

Default Selmer Cigar Cutter?

My tech just happened to get a Selmer Cigar Cutter in. I don't know much yet, as I haven't talked to him personally about it, but it is of course from the early 30s and he is completely restoring it. I have no experience at all on these horns, so I could use some opinions on that particular model! I think the price will be somewhere around or slightly above $1000 CDN (not like it makes a huge difference at the moment )

Thanks for any assistance.

30's Selmer = free blowing and loads of projection

A friend of mine has a Radio Improved, I have a Balanced Action, we get together and peel paint off walls...

Seriously though, I'm yet to play a horn that is as free blowing as mine of my friend's. They are really warm sounding, especially with a nice large chamber mpc.

The guy who sold it to me is now on an endorsement deal with Yamaha, hence couldn't keep playing it, he also had a MkVI. He prefered the BA to the MkVI, enough said.

Oh, I'm talking about the altos, I've never played a 30's tenor.
    Alto: 1939 Selmer Balanced Action, Mark Spencer customised Sumner Acousticut, Vandoren Java 3's, BG Standard Ligature

Distinguished SOTW Member
    Forum Contributor 2011

I have a New Largebore alto from 1930 (Cigar cutter with conventional octave mechanism, essentially). It too peels paint or rocks babies to sleep.

$1000 is a snip, especially in restored condition.
    It's an ill wind that blows nobody down a long lane which has no silver lining.

Forum Contributor 2013

Sounds like 50% off what a properly restored horn could sell for. Lucky you.

That price is very low for a decent alto Cigar Cutter. Mine is from '32 - one of the most resonant altos I've ever played. I think my three Bueschers (TT, Big B, and TH&C) are louder, but for pure tone and resonance, the Cigar Cutter is equal. They are wonderful old saxophones. DAVE
    Dave