Sax on the Web Forum banner

Resonators on Dolnet?

3K views 6 replies 7 participants last post by  hornimprovement 
#1 ·
I have a wonderful mid-1950's Dolnet alto that I started playing again a few years ago after a long hiatus. I bought it new in the Netherlands at the time and it still has its original (red) pads. When I picked it up again, I had it evaluated and regulated by an expert who concluded that the pads were still in good shape and replacement could wait. (Overall, he thought it was a great horn!) But I think the time is now! My question is this: The original pads do not have any resonators and I am generally happy with the horn's sound. As part of an overhaul, should I chose to have resonators installed and, if so, what kind? Or should I stick to just pads and leave well-enough alone? Your input is appreciated! (If the purpose of resonators is just to make the horn "louder", I don't need them. Our band leader already "accuses" me often of being too loud!)

Henry

(Also posted in the Repair & Maintenance thread)

#2 ·
I had a '50's Couesnon that had old non-reso pads. It needed a repad and I had it done with metal reso pads. How much the resos contributed, I don't know, but the horn played far better, it was more alive and vibrant - though of course it was never going to play well with knackered pads of any type anyway. I think (though I am no expert either on vintage horns or a Dolnet in particular) that a horn from that era should have had resos from new and suspect it may have been repadded some while back with cheapskate pads.

#3 ·
I think (though I am no expert either on vintage horns or a Dolnet in particular) that a horn from that era should have had resos from new and suspect it may have been repadded some while back with cheapskate pads.