P Mauriat
Antigua Winds

Thread: soprano sax vs. clarinet

Default soprano sax vs. clarinet

Hey guys,

This is a question for those of you who play both soprano sax and clarinet.

I have a younger cousin wanting to take up a woodwind instrument and wanting either a soprano sax or clarinet; so which in your opinion would be the harder to learn for a complete beginner and what are the pro's and con's of both instruments?

(also apologies if this is in the wrong section)

Thank you!

Distinguished SOTW Member Carl H.'s Avatar

Clarinet is harder to learn.
    Clarinets can be had fairly cheaply.
    Clarinets have a lot of music specifically for them.
    Soprano sax is more of a specialty instrument for advanced players and ensembles.
    So far, this is the oldest I've been.

it will also be easier to transition from clarinet to sax than the other way around.

Distinguished SOTW Member
    Forum Contributor 2014

I play clarinet and saxophone as well as teach Middle School Band full time. Trust me on this one LEARN CLARINET FIRST. The saxophone will be a breeze to pick up in 7th or 8th grade. (That doesn't mean saxophone is easy BUT Clarinet fingerings directly relate to most of the saxophone while saxophone fingerings work on only 1/2 the clarinet)

PLUS the music for clarinet is much more interesting. I'd also be surprised if a band program allowed beginner soprano saxophonists.

Good Luck.

Distinguished SOTW Member and Forum Contributor 2008

How old is that "younger cousin"? If we're talking about someone that wants to learn music in a school program, I'd go with clarinet. If we're talking about someone out of school that wants to play, then let them listen to a couple of CD's and ask them which sound captures them the most.

BTW, even if we're talking about a school student, I would get them doubling on sax within a couple of years. This coming from a clarinet player . . . I wish I had switched while I was in school.