Sax on the Web Forum banner

Blues Scale in Freddie Freeloader? Aaaagh!

20K views 86 replies 15 participants last post by  Rick Adams 
#1 ·
I'm a sax beginner, and my teacher is currently trying to teach me to pick the right scales to improvise over a tune. In the lesson I played Blues scales over a simple 12 bar blues backing track he had, but at the end of the lesson he told me to go away and practice with Freddie Freeloader using my Aebersold CD for backing. Here's the thing, the blues scale sounded great against the 12 bar blues track when I was with my teacher, but it sounds terrible (really awful) when I try it against Freddie Freeloader at home (eg when the bar is C7 I'm told to improvise using the Blues scale in C, etc). Is it me or the scale? What am I doing wrong?

I'd really appreciate some simple pointers because it's driving me nuts! :(

#2 ·
- was the blues scale you used in the lesson in the same key as on your Freddie/Aebersold recording?

- are you using one blues scale in the tonic key for the entire 12 bars or are you using a different scale for each chord?

- I don't have the Aebersold to refer to. How many chords are in the play-along background?

#4 ·
Hi guys, in answer to your questions:

I play a tenor and I'm definitely using the Bb score.

The purpose of the exercise is to get me playing different scales within the same piece, as up until now I have just played one scale over the whole thing.

The progression (for Bb instruments) is:

C7 C7 C7 C7 F7 F7 C7 C7 G7 F7 C7 C7

What I am playing is

When C7 - C Blues scale - C, D#, F, F#, G, A#
When F7 - F Blues scale - F, G#, A#, B, C, D#
When G7 - G Blues scale - G, A#, C, C#, D, F

If I play the C, F and G dominant 7th scales it sounds fine. If I play the C, F and G Blues scales it sounds completely dissonant, just wrong.

#5 ·
I'm waiting with bait on my breath for this one. I must be sleep-walking, because I don't see a conflict. What am I overlooking?

#6 ·