Antigua Winds
AW Reeds

Default Milwaukee sax players??

Hello all -

Just wondering if any forum members live in or around the Milwaukee, WI area and might be interested in getting together to practice. I've been playing the alto sax on and off for about 15 years (thought i'd still call myself a novice player), but it's been all private lessons or simply studying on my own. It's difficult to stay motivated when you don't have the chance to play with other musicians, and i'm sure i've been missed a critical part of the learning process - ie, getting the chance to play/learn with and from other players. I'm 27 with a full time job, so i don't have some of the same opportunities with a high school or college type of group and given the fact that i've really got no combo/band experience, hard for me to just sit in with a well established group (which i'm not ready for). Anyways, thought i'd inquire ......

Thanks

mpez22

Howdy!

I'm a sax performance/philosophy double major at UWM. A few of us browse here, but I think i'm the only one who posts much. I play alto in our innovative jazz lab, lead alto in our jazz ensemble, soprano in our saxophone quartet, and one of the altos in our top wind ensemble. I consider myself much more of a classical player than a jazzer, but I still enjoy jazz and I'm told I have some decent chops - though I don't really think so.