P Mauriat
Antigua Winds

Thread: Alto + Soprano at the same time?

Default Alto + Soprano at the same time?

Hi all,

I'm a newbie in Alto (around 10 months). I'm interested to play Soprano together with my Alto. I saw a lot of threads here mentioning to add the other horn after several years of playing one horn. Since I'm a bit quite old, I think...(27 years old now...) So:
    1. Is it "appropriate" for me to learn Alto and Soprano at the same time?
    2. Are the mechanisms (fingering...etc) similar between Alto and Soprano?
    3. If the above question is true, can I apply the same concept on Alto to Soprano?
    4. Is there anything that I should aware of?

Thank you so much for all your advice.

-Stanley

Quote Originally Posted by chengccs
    Hi all,

I'm a newbie in Alto (around 10 months). I'm interested to play Soprano together with my Alto. I saw a lot of threads here mentioning to add the other horn after several years of playing one horn. Since I'm a bit quite old, I think...(27 years old now...) So:
    1. Is it "appropriate" for me to learn Alto and Soprano at the same time?
    2. Are the mechanisms (fingering...etc) similar between Alto and Soprano?
    3. If the above question is true, can I apply the same concept on Alto to Soprano?
    4. Is there anything that I should aware of?

Thank you so much for all your advice.

-Stanley
    yes
    yes
    yes
    not really, the soprano will take more control and most likely seem more difficult to you at first

Thanks a lot, dshook.

Then I better ask my teacher to see if I'm able to control the soprano in current stage.

Distinguished SOTW Member

I agree - no real biggee in playing both horns. True, the soprano requires a bit more embouchure-tightness, but that should only improve your alto tone, once you develop it.