Antigua Winds
AW Reeds
    Distinguished SOTW Member bfoster64's Avatar

Default Review of Allora Tenor Sand Finish

I just received my Allora tenor in sand finish from WWBW yesterday. I had never played one, but liked the comments people made about it, so I thought I would try it out--little risk thanks to the return policy. For reference, I have been playing alto exclusively since 1996, but between 1990 and 1995 I played tenor exclusively. I currently have a 1947 Conn 6m and a 1963 SDA alto.

The Allora is a great horn, and at a very good price. The Chicago Jazz Series (CJS) earthtone was cheaper by a few hundy but I don't like all the engraving (no stars, please) so I ordered an Allora not factory sealed (NFS) which was the same price as the CJS. The horn had a few minor blemishes in the finish, as though someone had left a fingerprint without wiping it off, but nothing to scream about, and they were only visible under bright light. A factory sealed horn would have been nicer, but it was worth the $300 discount to get the NFS horn.

Comments on the mechanics: this sax does not have linkage between the low C# and B keys in the pinky stack. I think that was an innovation introduced with the new Medusa, which was absent from the B&S 2001. The Eb/C roller keys for the right hand pinky are angled slightly, and the C key extends downward a bit. I think this is the same keywork as on the Guardala. I think the Eb/C keys are a bit different on many of the other B&S horns, but I could be wrong--it is not always easy to tell from the pictures I have seen. The sax did not have the adjustable left hand palm keys, which were used on the 2001 B&S but not on later B&S tenors. Overall, the keywork is modern and comfortable, very smooth and solid under the fingers, and easy to play. This sax feels extremely solid and well made throughout.