Antigua Winds

Default Practicing with Band in a Box

I've been practicing along with BIAB for a few months now - I've not used any of the many playalong music books since I started using BIAB. Here are some of the useful things you can do with BIAB:

You can find any songs in MIDI format and convert it to BIAB format for playalong (even though some are poorly sequenced, but generally you should be able to find a good one).

The melody of the song can be "ripped" so that you can get a notation and print it out if you like. You can also get BIAB to transpose the notation to Eb or Bb instrument while playing the accompaniment in concert.

Most jazz standards in MIDI format would also contain a good solo section which again can be ripped for practice.

BIAB allows you to loop scan a section of the music with the notes so that you can practice until perfect any section. You can also slow the tempo while practicing.

With a good sound card or software synth, you can get some awesome and realistic backup accompaniment eventhough MIDI format. I use the VSC software synth ($20). I think it is free if you buy one of the BIAB package deal.

The "Soloist" program in BIAB allows you to generate an improvised solo basing on a selected "Style" to your liking. For example, you can put in a few bars of chords with a selected style (Charlie Parker 16th Swing, for example) and instruct BIAB to create a solo basing on the chords.

You can also purchase the 101 Jazz riffs that is offered by BIAB practice some nice riffs.

The list goes on.....

Sounds like I work for BIAB , I don't but just thought I share this very useful pracitice tool with others. I have not fully explored all BIAB features yet but will be glad to help anybody who has questions. I currently have tons of practice materials that will last me a few years just by working with BIAB. I wish I have discovered this program sooner, I would have saved alot of money from not buying the saxophone music books.