P Mauriat
Antigua Winds

Thread: saxonette anyone?

Default saxonette anyone?

Hi,

This is my first time on this forum. I was wondering whether anyone knew anything about:

a) The Saxonette
    b) The Abbott thingumy of a similar design.

All I have been able to find is 1 site on the saxonette (http://hem.passagen.se/eriahl/saxonette.htm ), and there are some pictures of the Abbott on the saxpics website. I don't think the Abbott counts as a saxonette, as I think it's in Bb. This is no use to me, as I hate transposing, can't do it at all (I have perfect pitch). However, it is interesting anyway. The saxonette of course is in C. The only other example of a saxonette i have seen is on eBay a little while back, which was unfortunately too expensive for me at the time.

So, does anyone know anything else? Thanks in advance,

ukebert
    Last edited by ukebert; 05-20-2005 at 05:35 PM.

I think you're looking at a marketing device.

Saxophone = conical bore. There doesn't seem to be anything mentioned in the link that mentions that the "saxonette" has that.

The keywork "looks" saxophone-ish because it's the Albert fingering system -- most modern clarinets use a Boehm fingering (the sax uses a modified version -- Google 'em). The Albert fingering system was available on standard Bb soprano clarinets, too.

The curved shape is pretty, but probably has some intonation problems.

==========

The Abbott Sax-Clarinet, pictured on my website, is a clarinet modified to use some saxophone fingerings -- it's still got a lot of standard clarinet keywork.
    Last edited by Pete; 05-19-2005 at 11:16 PM.
    Yes, I'm the Artist Formerly Known as Saxpics.

Check out my new blog and gallery! Latest article: 09/24/12.