Sax on the Web Forum banner

lowering the strap ring for a tall guy - is it wise? Ever heard?

6K views 44 replies 19 participants last post by  milandro 
#1 ·
Hey,
I am a beginner, and I switched from clarinet to tenor sax, and the first thing I noticed how uncomfortable it was. The parameters: I have a 1936 Buescher Aristocrat (haven't tried any other kind), and I'm 6'4", 194 cm, with a looooong giraffe neck. For shorter people, the strap ring is over their stomach - mine is like five-six inches higher, over the middle of my sternum. As a consequence, I gotta push the sax away from me with my left thumb, but so hard that my left hand fingers can't move freely.
I had an idea, and I put a wire between two posts like three inches below the strap ring, and I hooked the strap there. Wow! What a difference! My left hand was alive!
My question is: have you ever heard of lowering the strap ring? Or should I have another ring put up and have two, like on bass clarinets?
Mod people, pour your wisdom on me.
Thanks.

#2 ·
Alto players get by with the strap hook much closer to their face.

Generally the loop is moved for balance issues - too high bites you in the face, off to one side is bad for your wrists.

Try a longer strap.

#5 ·
But if I make the strap longer, the mp comes under my chin, I gotta drop my head and my embouchure is dead. Or isn't it? I've been playing with it for like five months, trying different straps and harnesses, and suddenly I came up with this wire solution and it worked amazingly well.
Yep, my tech also told me that the ring is placed for balance reasons - that's why I was thinking of two rings like bass clarinets have.
I am a beginner and I am really open to any suggestions, and thanks for sharing your opinion.

#6 ·
A competent teacher will fix this problem in seconds, but we could be months trying to get to the root of it online.

#10 ·