Sax on the Web Forum banner

An introduction

3K views 16 replies 9 participants last post by  jasone 
#1 ·
Hello everyone.

I just thought I would go ahead and introduce myself. My name is Jason and I've decided to pick up the sax, at age 34. I got screwed out of every opportunity to learn music as a kid and decided now I am in a place where I can create my own opportunity.

I've spent the last month researching instruments and the sound of a tenor sax just resonated with me, no pun intended.

Right now I am just learning music theory. I can't afford a horn until after Christmas. I am also researching brands and prices. Unfortunately, my local music shop isn't an option for me. Their used tenor saxes start $1200. They have one for $750, but it is some cheap Chinese horn. $1400 for a used Yamaha yts-23 seems awfully high to me. And it wasn't one of those 'like new" horns. If you know of a good place to buy online, please feel free to pass that along.

When it comes time, I'll be able to find a teacher fairly easily. K-State is right here and I know a few of the music professors. It should be easy to find a sax player willing to give lessons.

Aside from that, you probably won't hear from me again. There is so much information here I can't imagine I'll have a need to start a new discussion.

Thanks to everyone for all the great info to peruse.

See less See more
#5 ·
Congratulations Jason! It's a wonderful journey, and it has not destination. At 34, you're just a young whippersnapper.

When ready to buy, check with some of the folks here that sell vintage horns. They're thoroughly reliable and can hook you up with a pro level instrument that may well be within your budget.

#6 ·
Thanks for all the warm welcomes.