Antigua Winds
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Forum Contributor 2013 SimonJazzSax's Avatar

Default My world is turned upside down!!!!

Ok...I consider myself a tenor player through and through. I have gigged pretty much exclusively on Tenor for the last 6 years or so. In fact I think I have played the alto only 3 times since I graduated college in 2006. All 3 times I loathed. I couldn't get a good sound and I just couldn't voice it correctly. Anyway...I have always been an alto basher WELL...tonight my world was turned upside down.

I have been dabbling in with the alto for about 4 days so I decided to take it (a Conn 6M) with a new mouthpiece (Semer Soloist H) out to my gig (sting/steely dan type stuff) tonight. HOLY CRAP! I don't know if it was the music or the mouthpiece or the horn or me (unlikely), but I LOVED it. Not only that....every one in the crowd (the regulars at least) and the guys in the band were saying "bring that horn every week. PLEASE."

So I no longer know how to feel. I never really liked alto and I have always felt it was my weakest horn, but tonight and the last couple days have been messing with me. I am confused!>!>!>! Have I been wasting my time with tenor. Maybe I am an alto player. I feel like I'm cheating on my tenor. OH NO!!!!
    Just remember to make the best MUSIC you have the ability to make. If you do that, you are a successful musician.

Default Re: My world is turned upside down!!!!

There's no shame in dabbing with other instruments, I'm learning flute (a Germeinhardt 2SP) and playing my alto sax (a Kessler alto sax) at the same time. It doesn't mean I'm cheating on my alto Humans naturally are are curious creatures. Does it mean we have to stay playing the same instrument all the time? of course not!
    Kessler Custom Alto
    Gemeinhardt 2SP

I see the Tenor and Soprano as having very distinct personalities, where the alto can be anything (we) want it to be.