P Mauriat
Antigua Winds
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Instructions for spray lacquer/

Default Instructions for spray lacquer/

HI, I'm kind of new at the repair business. I was thinking of expanding my services to include relacquering of different colors (LA Sax). Any place to get some quality instruction? There are no techs doing this near me so taking O.J.T (on the job training) is not an option. Thanks!

Distinguished SOTW Technician tbone's Avatar

DanF, With all the new EPA regulations you might want to re-think this idea. With the cost of a spray booth, ventilation & filtration equipment, compressor, water and oil separator, regulators, guns, breathing apparatus, etc. you may never recoup your expenses. The old places are grandfathered in but a new shop would require a whole bunch of expensive equipment to get permits to operate. Don't get me wrong, I do do some lacquering but I constructed my booth many years ago before all the new government regulations came to light. Besides, the lacquer really stinks and it's real dirty work.

Default Instructions for spray lacquer

Thanks tbone. Having been in the gasoline business for 30 years I am well aware of the EPA "torture factor" and expenses involved. Never-the-less, I'm still interested in learning. I'm not in a metro area and I keep a low prefile (if you know what I mean) Thanks for the input.

DanF, Well, since you're intent on going for it let me start by saying it isn't rocket science. Yup, the cat's out of the bag! You'll need:

1. A spray booth. {Well lit, well ventilated room with smooth surfaces on walls floor and ceiling. Smooth to aide in dust control}

2. Air compressor. 60 gallon, 6.5 hp 220 VAC minimum. nothing worse than waiting for the air to build back up

3. High quality spray gun, pressure regulator, water separator, hoses, etc.

4. and most important, a good respirator. {don't need the inside of your lungs lacquered}

Now for the "secret" part: