P Mauriat
Antigua Winds

Thread: Jupiter Jas 767

Default Jupiter Jas 767

Hi, I have a Jupiter Jas 767 Alto Sax (serial # 20####) and am trying to find information about it. I have been told that it was superseded by another model that was not as good. I was told the 767 was as good as any of the 4 majors but at a fraction of the cost.
    Any advice appreciated please.
    Regards Stefg

Distinguished SOTW Member
    Forum Contributor 2013

Default Re: Jupiter Jas 767

Hey there,

I'm no expert on Jupiters but you are correct. The other model is the one starting with a 5. 547 I believe.....

I played a Jupiter Soprano for a time and it was a very nice instrument.

If it's in good working order you have a fairly well made modern horn that should take you far.
    (\__/) Amati ATS-61 Custom Unlacquered key work, Phil Barone Neck
    (0.o ) CE Winds Legend I. FL Ultimate lig, Vandoren Blue Box 2.5
    (> < ) www.soundclick.com/seanwinterJAZZ All of my posts should be prefaced by "IMHO"

Quote Originally Posted by littlewailer View Post
    Hey there,

I'm no expert on Jupiters but you are correct. The other model is the one starting with a 5. 547 I believe.....

I played a Jupiter Soprano for a time and it was a very nice instrument.

If it's in good working order you have a fairly well made modern horn that should take you far.
    I have a problem cos I haven't played alongside others (and starting late am somewhat tone deaf)
    Need to get out more (with other musicians) methinks.
    Thanks

Distinguished SOTW Technician. Oric Muso's Avatar

Jupiter is a good beginners instrument. They produces the Cheaper 500 series. But they had cheaper models earlier. 767 became 767-769 which is similar.
    Like most Taiwan manufacturers they have been indercut by cheaper Chinese instruments and so they have moved up into the professional market and they have 969 models.