Thread: Using alternative grips keys to get a clean high E - F#

Default Using alternative grips keys to get a clean high E - F#

On tenor and soprano playing high E

I will use left (lh) hand 123 + right hand (rh) palmkey (Pk) E
    or lh PK D + Rh pk E

F lh pk D F

F# lh pk D F + rh high F#
    Or lh pk F + rh E high F#

On soprano it's hard to even hit, play the note the usual way. I have been playing saxophone for 3 months now after a very long break, but I remember that the high notes was too sharpe on my tenor

Is it my embuchoure, build of mouth cavity? Does any of you have use alternative keys to play clean notes?

I think I have seen a place a saxophone that was built with a left front key for high E F that lifted the high E instead of F..

Distinguished SOTW Member RandyJ's Avatar
    Belle Harbor-Greenwich, CT and Grindelwald Switzerland

Default Re: Using alternative grips keys to get a clean high E - F#

Sfhansen
    I might be misreading your question, but it looks as though you need to study a fingering chart.

Why?

Forum Contributor 2013 skeller047's Avatar

You need to hold the LH Eb palm key down for both high E and F.

The correct fingering for E is : LH palm key D, palm key Eb + RH high E key.

The correct fingering for F is the same as above PLUS LH palm key F.

Alternatives, if you have the alternate F key on the left hand:

High E:
    LH 1 2 3 , with 1 on the alt F key instead of the B touch

High F:
    LH 1 2, with 1 on the alt F key

The alternate fingerings are altissimo fingerings in the sense that they depend on overtones higher than the 1st. One has to voice them differently, meaning the throat and tongue will be in slightly different positions than for the standard fingerings.

Depending on your sax, if these notes aren't in tune, then it's a combination of mouthpiece choice, mouthpiece placement and embouchure to fix it. How to go about that is a very long story...
    Steve Keller