P Mauriat
Antigua Winds
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Should an absolute beginner buy an advanced horn?

Default Should an absolute beginner buy an advanced horn?

Hello,

I am a "late bloomer" - 57, without any previous experience. I have started couple of months ago. The tenor I'm using -- Amati Craslice unknown model -- is rented from the musical school (where I'm taking lessons once a week) -- it is absolutely usable accordingly to my teacher but it has definitely seen better times. I want to have an instrument of my own and my teacher agrees that this is a reasonable step.

I wonder, should I as a beginner be satisfied with an entry level instrument (I'm deciding between Yamaha-275 and Keilwerth ST-90), or should I aspire for something better -- I don't think I am going to change this instrument in the future, I will stay with this one indefinitely. In what way I will be limited by the student horn (assuming that I will like its sound)? I will appreciate your advise.

Alexander

Default Re: Should an absolute beginner buy an advanced horn?

Quote Originally Posted by Agasfer View Post
    I wonder, should I as a beginner be satisfied with an entry level instrument (I'm deciding between Yamaha-275 and Keilwerth ST-90), or should I aspire for something better -- I don't think I am going to change this instrument in the future, I will stay with this one indefinitely. In what way I will be limited by the student horn (assuming that I will like its sound)? I will appreciate your advise.
    First of all, I don't think you can oversee yet whether you will stay with your next sax forever ... tastes change, etcetera

Apart from that, my opinion is that you should buy the best instrument you can afford.

What's your teacher's opinion on this? By all means, have him involved in your instrument selection.
    Grassi low A bari (1976) Meyer 9M / Martin "The Martin" tenor (1951), OL vintage Tone Edge #7