P Mauriat
Antigua Winds

Thread: Recommendations for intermidiate tenor sax?

Default Recommendations for intermidiate tenor sax?

Hi there!
    I play tenor sax in concert band and in my schools musicals and in show choir combo. I have been playing a student model yamaha for a few years now and I finally convinced my parents to help me purchase a sax. Im looking for an intermediate to pro level sax. My teacher says I should gget a selmer because I tend to overblow. I have a fobes debut mp that i really like and would prefer to keep using. Any suggestions?

Distinguished SOTW Member
    Forum Contributor 2013

Default Re: Recommendations for intermidiate tenor sax?

Are you REALLY looking for an intermediate tenor, or a pro level tenor that doesn't cost an arm and a leg? I suspect you have a price in mind and want the recommendations for the best in that range. Tell us the range and we can start the arguments and the shills.:
    "Zoot" would a good name for a kid...

Probably a pro tenor that wont cost too much but still would be nice for college and beyond. My range is 1500 to 2200

VIKING INSTRUMENTS Rich Maraday's Avatar

Hi, I have a very nice Viking Legend Series M85 Tenor 85% copper with a high F#. If you contact me at 845-361-9353 I would be happy to work with you and try to fit it into your budget. I also have a very nice Yard Bird TK Melody tenor that might work for you as well. These are pro horns in a very reasonable price range. Thanks Rich Maraday
    Quote Originally Posted by bandgeek View Post
    Hi there!
    I play tenor sax in concert band and in my schools musicals and in show choir combo. I have been playing a student model yamaha for a few years now and I finally convinced my parents to help me purchase a sax. Im looking for an intermediate to pro level sax. My teacher says I should gget a selmer because I tend to overblow. I have a fobes debut mp that i really like and would prefer to keep using. Any suggestions?
    VIKING CUSTOM SAXOPHONES