Antigua Winds
AW Reeds

Default Blues: Improvise over the changes

I can improvise over a blues progression on the appropriate blues scale but what about not just playing the blues scale notes. Will it sound as bluesy if you follow the chords and play the chord scale notes?

Reason I'm asking is because I really want to be able to improvise over the changes on jazz tunes but I find that too difficult. Thought maybe starting with the blues might jump start me in jazz.

Any suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Default Re: Blues: Improvise over the changes

I'm not an expert... But I find a lot of people sound best when they find a happy-medium between using the blues scale, and playing the changes at the same time.

At one clinic I attended, he talked about playing over (bebop at the time) the changes for one chorus, and then playing some blues licks on the second chorus. It has a real nice effect.

-Bubba-

Distinguished SOTW Member

An easy way to start is to throw in some mixolydian scale and diminished scale runs.
    64K Tenor - FocusTone Standard .105
    Results not typical

SOTW Columnist
    Distinguished SOTW Member

Quote Originally Posted by BobD View Post
    I can improvise over a blues progression on the appropriate blues scale but what about not just playing the blues scale notes. Will it sound as bluesy if you follow the chords and play the chord scale notes? .
    Go here; this will get you started: http://www.saxontheweb.net/Rock_n_Roll/