Antigua Winds
Results 1 to 18 of 18
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Medfield, MA
    Posts
    1,432

    Default Anyone using the "stock" Barone piece?

    What do people think about the HR Barone Vintage piece that comes with the horn?

  2. #2
    Forum Contributor 2014 patmiller's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Ocean Grove, Australia
    Posts
    1,413

    Default Re: Anyone using the "stock" Barone piece?

    I'm using that piece on my Barone Vintage alto. I'm principally a tenor player and I'm very picky about my tenor sound. On alto I'm happy to make any sound at all. The stock piece does the job OK for me. I'm certainly not looking to go down the same mouthpiece road on alto!
    Pleasing everyone is impossible; pissing everyone off is a piece of cake.

  3. #3
    Distinguished SOTW Member
    Forum Contributor 2012
    Sasquatch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Kansas City
    Posts
    1,458

    Default Re: Anyone using the "stock" Barone piece?

    I have recently switched back to using it. I had been playing on a Lawton 7*B, but became dissatisfied with the sound. I have a rounder, more complex (overtones) sound using the Barone Vintage piece on tenor.
    Come see me live with Platinum Express

  4. #4
    Just a guy who plays saxophone. swperry1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Portland, ME
    Posts
    1,835

    Default Re: Anyone using the "stock" Barone piece?

    I do not play mine, but I found it to be a good all around piece that was smooth and easy to play in all registers...If I had given it more time instead of getting caught up in the mouthpiece shuffle; I probably would have really liked it. Every Saxscape prototype sounded really good too, but I am playing a Barone Hollywood and I love it. I am not going to play anything else for a full year (hopefully more)...I am four months in and it seems to get better daily!

  5. #5
    Distinguished SOTW Member/Forum Contributor 2010 harmonizerNJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    USA, NJ
    Posts
    4,157

    Default Re: Anyone using the "stock" Barone piece?

    For me, the HR Barone Vintage mouthpiece which came with my Barone soprano is my preferred piece for soprano sax, because it makes the high speak more easier without resorting to using a harder reed, and thus makes the lower end work better for me.

    I have never tried any Barone mouthpiece for alto or tenor.

  6. #6
    Forum Contributor 2009 saxguy007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Glen Allen, VA
    Posts
    1,303

    Default Re: Anyone using the "stock" Barone piece?

    I found my hard rubber vintage tenor piece to be a bit stuffy, so I flipped it in a trade. I later obtained one of Phil's metal Jazz model pieces that I use quite often, because it's more free blowing, but still has a sophisticated core to the sound.
    Covering the bari part- because no-one else owns one...
    Cannonball "Lady Godiva" Vintage, Selmer Ref 36 and Barone MAC 8 tenors; Cannonball Stone Series and Mk VII altos; Cannonball Stone series soprano and bari

    YouTube clip MySpace

  7. #7

    Default Re: Anyone using the "stock" Barone piece?

    Quote Originally Posted by saxguy007 View Post
    I found my hard rubber vintage tenor piece to be a bit stuffy, so I flipped it in a trade. I later obtained one of Phil's metal Jazz model pieces that I use quite often, because it's more free blowing, but still has a sophisticated core to the sound.
    Actually that was quite opposite for me. I bought a metal NY Super Jazz 7* first which and it was a great-sounding mouthpiece for rock and funky stuff. But then I switched to the stock hard-rubber Vintage 7 that came with my classic tenor. I find it more free-blowing coupled with the FL Ultimate lig and it gives a very round creamy and sweet sound, very traditional tenor warm/darker sound and is a fun to play, more free-blowing for me than NYSJ. But to each his own, of course.

  8. #8
    Distinguished SOTW Member. Wilbur Weltklang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Melbourne Victoria
    Posts
    1,798

    Default Re: Anyone using the "stock" Barone piece?

    I got caught up in the GAS shuffle too. The PB piece that came with the horn blows better than either a NY STM, Barone Jazz '8' or a 130 Berg.
    There's gonna be a drawer clear-out soon.
    cheers, Mark.

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Eastern Australia
    Posts
    418

    Default Re: Anyone using the "stock" Barone piece?

    Every now and again I make an effort to use it, but I always end up returning to the Vandoren T35.

  10. #10

    Default Re: Anyone using the "stock" Barone piece?

    I like the HR that came with my soprano quite well and use it as my primary soprano piece.

  11. #11

    Default Re: Anyone using the "stock" Barone piece?

    Lately I've been using my HR Barone on my Couf (tenor). It seems focus the sound a bit more the my Vandoren metal piece.

  12. #12
    Grimmell73's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Tiny town, Iowa
    Posts
    310

    Default Re: Anyone using the "stock" Barone piece?

    This makes 3 for the Barone soprano piece. I now have a Sopranoplanet Missing Link that gives me a sound leaning more to the flute end of the spectrum, but for a more typical sound leaning to the oboe, the stock mouthpiece does great -- easy to play, even across the registers.

    The stock tenor piece was pretty good as well, but I ended up with a Super NY and a Lelandais Trompette. Happy now.
    Think in shades of gray; act in black and white; dream in color.

  13. #13

    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Waiuku New Zealand
    Posts
    366

    Default Re: Anyone using the "stock" Barone piece?

    Another one for the soprano piece

  14. #14
    SOTW Administrator hakukani's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    big island Hawaii
    Posts
    23,781

    Default Re: Anyone using the "stock" Barone piece?

    I've been using a barone sop piece for about 5 years.
    Sound guy theory of relativity: E=mc^2 (+or- 3dB)
    Sax player theory of relativity: E=mc^2 (+or- .010" at the tip)
    "Free jazz is the vegemite of the musical world. It's an acquired taste."-J. Jacques

  15. #15

    Default Re: Anyone using the "stock" Barone piece?

    Yeah I use the soprano piece too. It just works.
    Selmer MK VI Tenor (144K) & Cannonball Big Bell Stone Series (The Raven)/Phil-Tone Eclipse (Custom) .110 - Buffet 400 Alto/Phil Tone Aurora .080 - Selmer Bari/Lawton 8*B - Phil Barone Classic Soprano/Barone Vintage 7
    My Blog

  16. #16
    Forum Contributor 2011
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    174

    Default Re: Anyone using the "stock" Barone piece?

    I wish I could

    Bought my Barone from a local store; the owner hard bought one to evaluate it. The mouthpiece however is unplayable, the table is uneven/warped and has marks so it looks like it might have been tempered with. I was very curious to try a Barone mouthpiece so it was a bummer.

    My Classic Tenor however is fantastic!

  17. #17
    Distinguished SOTW Member/ Forum Contributor 2011
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,159

    Default Re: Anyone using the "stock" Barone piece?

    They are the same "Bari and Associates" blank used by Jody Jazz (for the HR*), Peter Ponzol (for the "Vintage" model), Keilwerth, among MANY other names (they make them for people and stamp whatever writing they want). A "stencil" mouthpiece if you will.

    They are very similar to a Meyer for tenor.

    I haven't really played a bad one, when compared to new Links etc.

  18. #18

    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Eastern Australia
    Posts
    418

    Default Re: Anyone using the "stock" Barone piece?

    This thread has prompted me to have another look at the Barone mouthpiece that came with the Vintage tenor. For a few days now I have been playing my YTS-82z with the Barone *7 and a Legere 2¼ reed. The result is most satisfying. I think I will stick to this combination.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •