Sax on the Web Forum banner

Making it as a High School Saxophinist

3K views 13 replies 8 participants last post by  alljoe 
#1 ·
I'm a High School student living in Western New York (nowhere near the city). Saxophone is what i know i want to do for the rest of my life, even if i am just 16. I perform in many extracurricular bands and some non-extracurricular that are non-profit. Being a normal 16 yr old, i can't continue living on zero income, especially with college right around the corner. Not only do i want to be recognized, i want to be able to make money doing this as well. I'm a firm believer that one should not have to work a day in their life if they enjoy what they do.

are there any helpful hints and tips anyone can give me to starting my saxophone career? anything helps. Music ideas, Gigging ideas, anything. Right now i'm at ground zero.

I live within 20 mins of a city too that is very big on music performance if that helps.

#2 ·
Sounds like you are doing fine. Your "saxophone career" should not mean you don't do (lots of) other things to survive as well.

At this point you should dedicate yourself to studying music, and your survival as a musician will depend on having a wide range of skills and being flexible. This means doubling on other woodwinds and other instruments, excellent sight reading as well as having arranging skills, teaching, computer skills and business and networking skills. Be ready to practice and work very, very hard.