P Mauriat
Antigua Winds

Thread: Alto sound

Question Alto sound

Okay, so I know that asking what mouthpiece to use is like asking "how much does Texas weigh"! I've been playing for 20+ years but honestly just a hobby. I play some rock and roll and a little jazz every now and then. I don't own a top-line horn but the Yani does what I need for now. My problem is that it's way too "pretty". My tone is very pure and virtually has no real character. I'm playing a Meyer (think it's a 6M or something like that) and while it's a little more "dirty" than the stock C*, it's just not what I'm looking for, especially when recorded. Even when I overblow it, it's really hard to get any kind of rasp or air in the tone. Anyone want to at least point me toward the right ideas on this? I use a Link metal on my tenor and can easily get the sound I want from that thing but really have never been able to get it from Alto. I've tried a Dukoff D6 and honestly, it was just LOUDER. I'm using Vandoren JAZZ 3's. Thoughts?

Forum Contributor 2014 Pete Thomas's Avatar

Default Re: Alto sound

Quote Originally Posted by jkeefauver View Post
    Okay, so I know that asking what mouthpiece to use is like asking "how much does Texas weigh"!
    Not quite, the answer is probably more subjective than that.

One part of me is tempted to say that you will get what you are after mostly from working on your tone and embouchure rather than getting a different mouthpiece. The other part of me wants to recommend an RPC.

Distinguished SOTW Member
    Forum Contributor 2012

Sounds like you got good gear. I'd look elsewhere for the answer.
    "The key to improvising is being able to play and listen at the same time."

Softer/different reeds and listen to Phil Woods? He gets plenty of grit when he wants on a Meyer.
    UNT Jazz Grad Student/Freelance Saxophonist - DFW Private Lesson Instructor
    Selmer Series II alto / Morgan Jazz 7M - Java 3