Antigua Winds
AW Reeds
    Distinguished Member
    Forum Contributor 2014

Default Transcription of Coltrane's solo on I Could Write a Book

I've received so much from this forum that I think it's time to give something back.

I finally decided to start transcribing songs. This is my first attempt - John Coltrane's solo on I Could Write a Book, from the Miles Davis Quintet CD "Relaxin' with Miles".
    There may be note or chord mistakes, so please let me know if you find any, I'll be more than happy to share a revised copy.
    Enjoy!
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Tenor:
    Selmer Mark VI, Ted Klum Focustone Solid Silver Handcrafted 0.108" mpc, Rigotti Gold 3M reeds, Marc Jean ligature

Default Re: Transcription of Coltrane's solo on I Could Write a Book

jlima you should transcribe the melody also and not just the solo. I always see transcribed solos without the head. A player should know how to respect the melody and this means how to play the melody. There are many ways for playing the same melody and master how to be creative with that is a must. Think about that.

Good job
    62' Tenor Mark VI
    "vintage" otto link 7*

Quote Originally Posted by SaxTMan View Post
    jlima you should transcribe the melody also and not just the solo. I always see transcribed solos without the head. A player should know how to respect the melody and this means how to play the melody. There are many ways for playing the same melody and master how to be creative with that is a must. Think about that.

Good job
    Remember, Coltrane did not play the head on that particular recording… and Miles's interpretation isn't much different from the chart that's already in the Real Book.