Antigua Winds
AW Reeds
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default How to make soprano sax sound like clarinet?

I love the sound of the clarinet, but I cannot justify buying one for a few reasons:

1. I have not mastered the sax, so why start learning another instrument?

2. I don't have time to learn another instrument, and the time I do have to practice, I want to spend on sax.

3. I spent thousands on my Yani SC-9937 soprano sax and it deserves more playing time than I currently give it.

So... are there some mouthpiece & reed combinations you would suggest I try to help my soprano sax sound a bit more like a clarinet when I'm in a clarinet mood? I am not a pro player. This is just for fun.

Thanks!

Default Re: How to make soprano sax sound like clarinet?

Stuff a sock in it?

OTOH, have you tried a classical mouthpiece on it (ala Rousseau "Classic" or similar)?

Beyond that, it's all in your head. Really.
    Go for The Tone,

g

"When you are doing well, don't forget to do good." - Sichan Siv.

Distinguished SOTW Member

Kermit: I am not ignoring what you "claimed" in your opening post but there shouldn't be a problem with playing both . . . I do it and so do many others. I think tackling the clarinet will probably aid your development on saxophone. I know it did for me. I started on soprano saxophone and added clarinet years later. There are enough similarities to get you started and the change isn't rocket science.

I seriously doubt if ANYTHING you did with your soprano saxophone would make it sound like a clarinet, though. DAVE
    Dave

You gotta play the sound you love. When it comes down to it.

Indistinguishable Resident Buescher Bigot and 2014 Forum Contributor maddenma's Avatar
    Park Slope, Brooklyn, NY, USA, Earth, Orion's Arm, Milky Way, Virgo Super Cluster, Known Universe