Sax on the Web Forum banner

Saxophone Cleaning/Polishing

24K views 19 replies 13 participants last post by  swood 
#1 ·
I have a Jupiter Capital edition alto sax that I bought when I started playing sax 5 years ago. At the time, I was a careless eight-year-old and I never swabbed it out or used a padsaver. I didn't even take the time to wipe it down with a dry cloth To get off excess spit and fingerprints. Now, I am thirteen and my horn looks like a piece of spitty, fingerprinty crap. I was wondering if there is a repair for this I could do myself, and, if not, what type of repair to ask for at the shop if they have one. Any insight you can give me is greatly appreciated. I just want to know how to get dried spit and fingerprints off of the finish and insides of my sax.:soapbox:

#2 ·
I think many on the forum here would suggest the polish Wenol. You can get it from www.musicmedic.com as well as other places. Just that and a soft rag will polish the outside nicely. Brasso is an excellent polish which you can find in even grocery stores, but it's a little more harsh, so I wouldn't use that on a lacquered surface unless it's necessary.

For the inside, Brasso would be excellent. Soft Scrub is also decent for things like that. Often, I just afix an old toothbrush to a dowel rod (be careful of that little octave pip in the upper body), put some on, and scrub if you're doing the inside as well.

#5 ·
Well, I've used a padsaver for 2 years after it was recommended to me by my teacher. I leave it in the horn everytime I practice or play a concert and I have found no ill effects yet. I do not play for incredibly long lengths of time, and I find a padsaver much easier to use. I hesitate to use any type of solvent on the lacquered surface. I think I'm going to get it cleaned, polished, and PC2 checked by the repair technician at my dealer.

#6 ·